Tag Archives: Doncaster Rovers

Doncaster Rovers Record away run

When the season started last August, it brought with it a number of hopes and expectations. After last seasons travails most of them were realistic and modest. After a season tucked away and gratefully once and for all put to bed that had seen Doncaster Rovers lose 15 of the 23 away games during the year, none of the new targets included a record breaking away run, however the excellent 2-1 win at Stevenage last week signalled just that.

The previous seasons best for avoiding defeat away from home came in the 1946/47 season and saw the side avoid defeat in an 11 game sequence from the start of the season until mid January when they slipped to an unexpected defeat at struggling Halifax.

The win at Stevenage signalled the 12th game in such a sequence this term and has now become the clubs best run away from the comforts of South Yorkshire for over 60 years.
1946/47 may now have been written out of this particular record book, but there were plenty more on offer that year.

The first season following the war year years saw Rovers charge towards the Division 3 title right from the first game, winning 11 of the first 12 league matches with goals in plentiful supply.
The side clearly picked up the habit of winning early on and it was a familiar feeling throughout the whole season with a spectacular run of 10 wins in a row (including a 8-2 win at home to Carlisle and a 8-0 home victory over Barrow) from January to April 1947 putting them comfortably in the driving seat in the race for the title, which was won well before the team were presented the shield at half time in the final match of the season.

It was an incredible season for the club which saw a number of records broken along the way including the most wins in a season (33), most away wins in a season (18), most consecutive away wins (7), most points in a season (72 – 2 points for a win), and the record for fewest defeats in a season was also equalled (just 3).
Maddison and McFarlane were ever present during the season and the legendary Clarrie Jordan topped the scoring charts with a club record 42 goals in 41 league games and 44 goals in all competitions.

Let’s hope the record breaking feats of 2013 are ultimately indicative of a season which bears some comparison with those of 1947, when Doncaster Rovers enjoyed the most successful season ever, and claimed the league title.

Division 3 North 1946-47

Played 42 Won 33 Drew 6 Lost 3 Gls F 123 Gls A 38 Pts 72

Played 21 Won 15 Drew 5 Lost 1 Gls F 67 Gls A 14 Pts 35

Played 21 Won 18 Drew 1 Lost 2 Gls F 56 Gls A 22 Pts 37

Fran Tierney

Fran Tierney was one of the highly regarded players to come off the Crewe Alexandra production line, during a period when Dario Grady produced a number of top class talents such as Danny Murphy, Robbie Savage and Neil Lennon.

Tierney was regarded as the hottest of prospects in the early part of his career and was reportedly set for a high profile move to Liverpool in the mid 90’s before a serious knee injury scuppered the deal.

He signed for the Rovers in March 2001 having had brief spells with Notts County and Exeter City, with questions marks over his fitness still hanging over him, having never really moved on from injury.

Fran’s time at the Rovers, as throughout his career, was littered with injuries.  However when fit, he proved he had the ability to play at a much higher level.  Skilful on the ball he had great vision and awareness and could provide a quality final ball with either foot.  He is indelibly etched on the history of the club, as it was his goal in extra time which won the conference play-off final in 2003 and lifted the club back into the football league.  Sadly, injury eventually had the final say and ended the midfielder’s career in late 2004.

Doncaster Rovers Manager History

Doncaster Rovers managers
A definitive list of all those to take the hot seat at Doncaster Rovers from the 20’s to present day.  Doncaster Rovers manager;

Arthur Porter 1920-21

Harry Tufnell 1921-22

Arthur Porter 1922-23

Dick Ray 1923-27

David Menzies 1928-36

Fred Emery 1936-40

Bill Marsden 1944-46

Jackie Bestall 1946-49

Peter Doherty 1949-58

Jack Crayston 1958-59

Jackie Bestall 1959-60

Norman Curtis 1960-61

Danny Malloy 1961-62

Oscar Hold 1962-64

Bill Leivers 1964-66

Keith Kettleborough 1966-67

George Raynor 1967-68

Lawrie McMenemy 1968-71

Morris Setters 1971-74

Stan Anderson 1975-78

Billy Bremner 1978-85

Dave Cusack 1985-87

Dave Mackay 1987-89

Billy Bremner 1989-91

Steve Beaglehole 1991-93

Ian Atkins 1994

Sammy Chung 1994-96

Kerry Dixon 1996-97

Dave Cowling 1997

Mark Weaver 1997-98

Ian Snodin 1998-99

Steve Wignall 1999-01

Dave Penney 2001-06

Sean O’Driscoll 2006-11

Dean Saunders 2011-13

Brian Flynn 2013

Paul Dickov 2013 – 2015

Darren Ferguson 2015 – present


Doncaster Rovers manager history